Little Deed

All of us- even the most pragmatic and senseless of our species, have a soft spot for kindness showered by others. Sadly, too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around!

My Tok Ayah’s (grandpa) pure act last week touched my heart to the deepest core. Our weekend routine is to pay my mom’s parents a visit, so we did last week. As per usual, my grandma whom I addressed as Tok Nek called for a company to the nearby pekan so guess which cucu mithali firstly rose up hands in the air? Me me! But before I went off, I asked my Tok Ayah what he’s so in favor of, any foods that he craves, only to receive a cutey smile. Sigh, my Tok is a really a shier!

Wandering around the pekan I couldn’t find any kueh so decided that a huge box of Apollo cakes will do just fine 😛 I love that chocolate layered cake, childhood favess. Tok won’t eat that much, right? LOL. Reaching home, I handed him the box while apologizing him for not finding anything better. Again, he just smiled -___-‘

Few days after, Mama told me that Tok Ayah complimented me in front of his other friends, just because I bought him a box of Apollo guys! Well, obviously he didn’t speak English but lemme just translate what his utterance is like:

“My grandchild Tina went to the pekan and bought me a box of Apollo, when it was heavily raining and no one is selling anything. She’s 22 and still studying in KL. When she’s working she will buy me more, ehehe”

I swear guys, I’m not making up efforts to produce posh words, of course my Tok Ayah uttered them in Kelantanese dialect but the essence sounds like this!

Listening to Mama’s story, an alien feeling that never wavered came across my veins. I’m so touched thinking that my tok appreciates the mere Apollo cakes like no other, like it means the whole world to him. From that moment on, I started to digest that oldies appreciate our remembrance on them, not countless moneys we shoved em. A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money. Attention, with no doubt is the priceless gift ever! If you have done this before, come gimme a fist bumps but if you haven’t, guys what were you thinking!!? Go, reconstruct your final ordinary moments and carve curves on their lips!

I’m picturing my smiling Tok Ayah now.

Would love to hear from you!

