Aka-awkward

Here’s one confession. I am not familiar with KLCC since the mall is not in the list of my most fond places in KL. Since it never gets lonely, the quite BV always precedes over unless I am really in the mood of being poshy moshy then I’ll roll over the prior (which is a very rare occurrence…). The last time I could recall stepping into KLCC was the time I attended SAS Lecture in Mandarin Oriental, decades ago. But to cut it short, my highschool friends who scattered all over the world returned home for summer break so out of many preferences they picked KLCC. Like it’s the only place their memory chips can recall after so long being outside of Malaysia. Duh.

So when Ummu and I were making our way to Ben’s, one stranger approached us. Or let me rephrase. “A handsome, ten thousand times better than Zayn Malik, if he wasn’t a converted Mat Saleh then he might probably a to-die-for Syrian, too good-looking” kind of stranger. *gasping for air* He asked:

“Excuse me, where’s surau?”

Uh. uh. Thanks brain processor for being kinda non-reactive in such critical situation. So answering in silent replies only myself capable to hear,

“Oh, I’m not a Malaysian” RUDE. UNGRATEFUL MALAYSIAN BRAT.

“Err I cannot solat today” TOO MUCH HONEST EXPOSURE TO A STRANGER.

“Actually…I’m not familiar with this place” THIS IS THE REAL ANSWER BUT TOO SHY TO UTTER.

In the end guess what my final answer be? Something quite close to to the first one but in a way noble version.

“Sorry but I’m not from here as well” Not from here? From where? What were you thinking, Kiasatina! For God’s sake your face is nothing close to an American, Bohemian, Syrian or Britain! Of course I should expect his unbelievable reaction, but I really don’t care what his interpretation of “from here” be! I mean, I came from Kota Bharu not KL as well. So technically I wasn’t lying! Ha ha. Weak defence.

Hans-Wakes-Up-To-Anna-Being-a-Little-Awkward-In-Disneys-Frozen
Google image

Haih but to be honest it’s kinda depressing to be an ignorant Muslim in the eyes of a handsome stranger, not to mention the shameful part! So a lesson to share, be sure of any surau’s location in any mall even if you are not familiar with that place for impromptu inquiries might come across, yah?

Reaching Ben’s, I told Neeks the story, she said nasib baik  the guy didn’t ask “where’s the mosque?” or else she’ll answer:

“LET’S BUILD ONE, BAE!”

Aka-awkward!

Would love to hear from you!

