V Day; Of Obligatory and Perplexity

Expressing thoughts for this post is actually a torn-in-between business for me. I’m quite self-doubting with the facts and thoughts that I may utter but what I will express here is all about my judgments, and I do apology if you find that this is a complete mess, a nasty crap, as I’m quite unaccustomed concerning this.

Anywhere my feet convey me now, anything my sight catches now, it’s all about the LOVE IS IN THE AIR matter. Pink’s everywhere, hearts backdrops are conquering almost every corner in the malls now, teddy bears are becoming the superstar now, dominant for all sales. Yet, some said that this is month of love. Yes peeps, this is February in which there’s a date called February the fourteenth and gun-shot as Valentine’s Day.

So what’s the hukum to celebrate V Day eh? OK, going back to the fitrah of being a Muslim, there’re only two big days which are meaningful for all Muslim and it’s quite rare when you told you’re not celebrating these days. We have our hari kemenangan; Eid Ul-Fitr and Eid Ul-Adha. And it is certainly wrong for us to emulate the non-Muslim’s tradition. As what had been told by Sheikh al- ‘Utsaimin; When celebrating the Valentine’s Day in remembrance towards the St. Valentine, then there’s no doubt that the individual is out of the track of Islam (kafir). And if they do not have such intention, just to celebrate what’s being celebrated by the others, then the person is committing a massive sin. Young people nowadays are too easy to be influenced with rare things, as long as it promises us happiness and glees, then we put aside the second thoughts and settle down to try the propa.

It is compulsory to be committed to our mind that the enemy is always seeking for the opportunity to sow the seeds of hatred and rage in our soul, fruiting in rebellious towards our own religion by playing this kinda fine game. But I’m wondering, what about the scenes of sins that I’m virtueing everyday? As such V Day is applicable in our single day. May Allah forgive each of us. Me myself have been too far astray, I’m on my way of returning back to my origin path, for the greatest love is the one and only love towards Ya Rabb. Allāh the Almighty said: O Son of Ādam, so long as you call upon Me and ask of Me, I shall forgive you for what you have done, and I shall not mind. O son of Ādam, were your sins to reach the clouds of the sky and were you then to ask for forgiveness of Me, I would forgive you; O son of Ādam, were you to come to Me with sins nearly as great as the earth and were you then to face Me, ascribing no partner to Me, I would bring you forgiveness nearly as great as it. (Tirmidhī) (Hadīth Qudsī).


I AM categorized as a liberal-minded person but yet, I didn’t find anything interesting regarding celebrating this V Day.

One thought on “V Day; Of Obligatory and Perplexity

Would love to hear from you!

